Frequently asked questions

Trust starts with transparency

We would like to give you an answer to frequently asked questions

Is an investment reliable?

Yes! But every investment carries risks. The profits, for instance, may turn out to be smaller if there is a drop in demand or if wages increase by leaps and bounds. According to reliable estimates of experts, however, the demand for wood, especially hardwood, will continue to rise in the next years. We regard a return of investment therefore as a given.

Are the profits as indicated realistic?

Yes! The unusual aspect is the cost-effective entry. The organizational structures at Mama Earth are flat and we work very effectively due to the well-balanced Farmers Program. On these grounds we are able to offer seedlings at a significantly lower price than similar projects. A good profit stems almost inevitably from a low purchase price.

Does the planting program reach the people?

Yes! As a matter of fact, very much. What makes the Mama Earth Program unique is that the farmers, who are our partners, receive 50 % of the timber yield. In this way, local people are really sustainably supported. The wood also remains on the local market. The impacts on natural forests are thus reduced.

Can I expect a quick return on investment?

Yes and no at the same time. For cacao, the repayments start from the third year onwards. Trees need more time in order to develop a reasonable and profitable trunk, even under the best possible conditions. For mahogany trees it takes 12 – , for teak trees even 15 years. A quick profit with wood is therefore not possible. However, we are currently developing a ‘tree retail’ (online from October 2016 onwards). You are able to offer your trees there if you would like to opt out earlier, or look for trees if you prefer a shorter term.

Do I receive a tax-deductible donation receipt?

No, donations are not tax-deductible because the Foundation does not have a corporate seat in Germany. Purchased goods are tax-deductible. Those who buy trees, wine boxes or bags to be given away to co-workers or customers, for instance, can set off these costs as gratuities against tax liability, up to an amount of 35 euro.

How does a wood investment proceed in practice?

You tell us the desired amount of trees, whereby the minimum amount of trees consists of 200 for mahogany and 150 for teak. After a down payment of 3 euro per tree we need:
• Your complete address with zip code.
• Your date of birth.
• Your marital status (married / divorced etc.). If married, name of spouse.
• One or two heirs, each with date of birth.
• A copy of identification card or passport (scan per e-mail or copy to the office).

Based on this information we make a notarial contract in PDF format which we send to you per e-mail for verification purposes. The purchased trees are already mentioned in the notarial contract. Once all the information is correct, the contract will be distributed six times by postal mailing. All six copies must be signed and sent to Hamburg.

• You will receive one contract back after it has been notarized.
• The notary deposits two contracts at the court.
• Two contracts are archived by the notary (you will find the address with e-mail address in the contract).
• One agreement is archived by Mama Earth Foundation.

After approximately 6 weeks you will receive your notarized contract per post. After that you have two weeks in order to pay the remaining sum. The contract is legally valid after the money transfer is completed.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Vertrauen beginnt bei der Transparenz

Wir möchten Ihnen zu den häufigen Fragen eine Antwort geben

Ist ein Investment sicher?

Ja! Aber jedes Investment birgt Risiken. So können zum Beispiel die Gewinne geringer ausfallen wenn die Nachfrage nachlässt oder die Arbeitslöhne sprunghaft ansteigen. Nach seriösen Einschätzungen von Experten wird die Nachfrage von Holz, besonders Hartholz, in den nächsten Jahren allerdings weiter steigen. Eine Rendite sehen wir somit als gesetzt.

Sind die angegebenen Renditen realistisch?

Ja! Das Besondere ist der günstige Einstieg. Die Strukturen bei Mama Earth sind flach und durch das ausgewogene Farmerprogramm arbeiten wir sehr effektiv. Wir können Setzlinge deshalb zu einem deutlich geringeren Preis anbieten als vergleichbare Projekte. Aus einem niedrigen Einkaufspreis ergibt sich fast zwangsläufig eine gute Rendite.

Kommt das Pflanzprogramm bei den Menschen an?

Ja! Sehr sogar. Das Einmalige an dem Mama Earth-Programm ist, dass die Farmer, die unsere Partner sind, 50 % vom Holzertrag bekommen. So werden die Menschen vor Ort wirklich nachhaltig unterstützt. Auch das Holz bleibt dem lokalen Markt erhalten. Dadurch werden die Einschläge in Naturwäldern reduziert.

Kann ich auf eine schnelle Rendite hoffen?

Ja und nein zugleich. Bäume brauchen Zeit um einen passablen und profitablen Stamm zu entwickeln, selbst unter besten Bedingungen. Für Mahagonibäume sind es 12, für Teakbäume sogar 15 Jahre. Eine schnelle Rendite ist mit Holz also nicht möglich. Sie brauchen Ihre Bäume aber nicht bis zur Ernte zu behalten. Wenn Sie früher aussteigen möchten verkaufen wir Ihre Bäume an Kunden, die eine kürzere Laufzeit bevorzugen, aber bereit sind dafür mehr Geld zu investieren. Sie verdienen auf jeden Fall!

Bekomme ich eine absetzbare Spendenquittung?

Nein, Spenden sind nicht steuerlich absetzbar weil die Foundation keinen Sitz in Deutschland hat.
Absetzbar sind Wareneinkäufe. Wer zum Beispiel Bäume, Weinhalter oder Taschen kauft und diese – bis zu 35 Euro – an Mitarbeiter oder Kunden verschenkt, kann diese Kosten als Gratifikationen von der Steuer absetzen.

Wie läuft das Holzinvest in der Praxis ab?

Sie nennen uns die gewünschte Anzahl der Bäume, wobei 200 Bäume bei Mahagoni und 150 Bäume bei Teak die Mindestmenge darstellen. Nach einer Anzahlung von 1 Euro pro Baum benötigen wir:

• Ihre vollständige Adresse mit PLZ
• Ihr Geburtsdatum
• Ihren Familienstand (verheiratet / geschieden etc.), falls verheiratet, den Namen der Ehefrau,
• einen oder zwei Erbberechtigte, jeweils mit Geburtsdatum
• eine Kopie vom Ausweis oder Reisepass (Scan per E-Mail oder Kopie an das Büro).

Mit diesen Angaben erstellen wir den Notarvertrag, den wir Ihnen vorab zur Prüfung als PDF per E-Mail übersenden. In dem Notarvertrag sind bereits die gekauften Bäume aufgeführt. Wenn alle Angaben stimmen, wird der Vertrag sechsfach per Post zugestellt. Alle sechs Ausfertigungen sind zu unterschreiben und nach Hamburg zu senden.

• Einen Vertrag erhalten Sie zurück nachdem er notariell beglaubigt wurde.
• Zwei Verträge hinterlegt der Notar beim Gericht.
• Zwei Verträge archiviert der Notar (Adresse mit E-Mail-Adresse finden Sie im Vertrag)
• Einen Vertrag archiviert die Mama Earth Foundation.

Nach circa 6 Wochen kommt Ihr notarisierter Vertrag per Post. Danach haben Sie zwei Wochen Zeit die Restsumme zu begleichen. Mit dem Eingang des Geldes ist der Vertrag rechtsgültig.

Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen? Sie können gerne Kontakt zu uns aufnehmen.