Change through trade

Improve the world with concrete projects

Wandel durch Handel

By choosing a supported project the consumer defines specifically how the world looks like. Thereby you can choose between social projects and investments in the sectors teak, mahogany and cacao.

Investment

Nature protection combined with investment? Since many years, we successfully offer investment in the sectors mahogany, teak and cacao.

Concrete projects instead of donations

We sell concrete products since many years. If you buy a tree or a bag, you receive a precise counter value.

Transparency

Transparency is the top priority with regard to environmental protection in conjunction with investment. Therefore, we would like to convince you of our work and to generate enthusiasm for our aspirations, on our website as well as in direct conversation.

Social projects

Our social projects are not merely based on reforestation. They are accompanied by fundamental information. We support local communities; from the provision of school supplies about activities concerning the appropriate way of dealing with nature up to the assembly of greenhouses. By networking with other organizations (Maharlika Charity Foundation) we can, for instance, enable our partners minor operations without charge.

Download our brochure as a PDF file: Mama Earth booklet

For over 25 years now

Against drift-net fishing and fur trade up to afforestation

For already over 25 years now, Mama Earth exists as a registered association.

In the early years our main commitment focused on the cessation of drift-net fishing,, fur trade and factory farming. In the course of this we did not raise an accusatory finger but went to the people, farmers and fishermen to raise their awareness. Notwithstanding the fact that this was a tiresome job, it had been worthwhile.

Within the scope of our project to distribute the solar cooker SK 16 (nowadays parabola cooker 100) we were able to get into direct contact with the global timber scarcity and the alarming deforestation rate. These insights and experiences have significantly changed the objective of the organization.

Since then we have been concentrating entirely on reforestation and simultaneously providing support to the people on the spot. For nature conservation and economic development are not mutually exclusive. Our first project was the successful planting of over one million mangroves. In the process our foresters have worked hand in hand with the local rural population.

Based on this success other tree projects were added – also commercial projects. Nowadays we offer a sophisticated investment package in the areas of teak, mahogany and cacao.

For more than three years now, the association is a foundation and currently pushes towards further afforestation, such as the major ‘myTree-Project’.

Again, we do not simply call for donations, like so many organizations. With a mere donation, the question of how and where the money is being spent is usually based upon a sheer relationship of trust towards the organization. Whether the money actually arrives there and how many percent is invested in internal structures and publicity of the organization are the driving and remaining questions.

Therefore, at Mama Earth we always offer support for a concrete project. If, for instance, you buy a tree at ‘myTree’, you receive the exact coordinates of your tree on a photograph and you can see the location with Google Earth. After entering the coordinates, Google Maps will directly lead you to your tree.

What makes an investment at Mama Earth special

Every tree counts

We have already planted many thousands of trees, but we have counted the ones listed below.

1.025.000
Mangroves
1.800
Teak trees
31.000
Cacao trees
128.000
Mahogany trees

Selected projects

Veggie House

Our project ‘Veggie House’ (Gemüsehaus) is still in a testing phase. The cultivation of local vegetables is carried out in a simple manner underneath an UV resistant plastic tarpaulin and a bamboo framework (hydroponic). The plants grow in bamboo sticks which are cut in half and filled with river sand and rice straw. Through this runs a nutritive solution. A ‘house’ of 300 square meters can, in the long run, guarantee sufficient income for up to three families.

Books and learning material

There is no point in criticizing children about always playing with their cell phone if there are no other forms of entertainment available. The cell phone becomes quickly uninteresting if children have books at their disposal. We are, therefore, occasionally financing the purchase of books and other learning material. You are most welcome to contact us if you want to spend English books, or if you have learning material.

donate books

Shopping bags

Our Livelihood-Project ‘Einkaufstaschen’ (shopping bags) is running very successfully. Rettet den Regenwald is our major customer. We sell the recycled bags even in the Philippines. Meanwhile, some mayors’ offices (Barangayen) use the bags in order to show their fellow citizens that everyone can prepare for shopping and does not have to carry everything home in plastic bags. We finance our mangrove plantings in 2016 with the shopping bags.

Buy bags

Giant Forest (2017/2018)

The project ‘Riesenwald’ (Giant Forest) is in preparation. At the start, 70 hectares should be planted with 1.000 toog trees. Every tree receives two endemic partners. A mixed forest which has no equivalent elsewhere! Only when at least 1.000 giant trees show their full splendor in 150 years have we achieved our goal. There is more information coming soon.

The Team of Mama Earth

Board of directors of Mama Earth

Curtny Kronberg
Vice President and Administrative Director. Enderun, Manila
Ulrich Kronberg
Senior President, Publisher and Journalist of Palstek Verlag, Hamburg

Ma Rheoleen D. Espanola
Secretary, responsible for internal sequences, written submissions etc.
Mary Mina F. Remis
Director, responsible for local authorities and official bodies
Michelle C. Centino
Treasurer, responsible for finances
Peter Reger
Peter Reger - Executive Director Mama Earth Germany

Clerical staff

 

Michelle C. Centino
Accountant
Elvera Reyes
Farm- and Project-Management

Reforestation

Mark Joseph Ibabao
Graduate in Forestry, Manager of the Reforestation Program and of the team
James Caligbus
Graduate in Forestry
Elton Jay Amila
Graduate in Forestry

On our farms

 

Welfredo Abarico
Coordinator and Supervisor of the Mangrove Programs
Ronnie Pana und Jonar Pana
Monitoring Team 1 for the Mahogany and Teak-Program
Marjun Romula und Danila Fernandez
Monitoring Team 2 for the Mahogany and Teak-Program

The cacao farms of Mama Earth

Mama Earth-Farm in Monkayo

This farm is only three kilometers bee-line away from the first one and also situated along a road. Not an insignificant aspect for after planting comes the harvest and the transport routes should therefore be short. The beans have to be delivered fresh in order to generate class A. Simultaneously we plant at those farmers who have joined our cacao program. These farmers are constantly monitored by Mama Earth as well. Ms. cacao doctor Evengelyn is responsible for this.

Wandel durch Handel

Mit konkreten Projekten die Welt verbessern

Wandel durch Handel

Der Verbraucher bestimmt mit der Wahl der unterstützen Projekte konkret wie die Welt aussieht. Sie können dabei zwischen sozialen Projekten und Investments in den Bereichen Teak, Mahagoni und Kakao wählen.

Investment

Naturschutz in Verbindung mit Investemt? Wir bieten seit Jahren erfolgreich Investment in den Bereichen Mahagoni, Teak und Kakao.

Konkrete Projekte statt Spenden

Wir verkaufen seit Jahren konkrete Produkte. Wenn Sie einen Baum oder eine Tasche kaufen, bekommen Sie einen exakten Gegenwert.

Transparenz

Beim Umweltschutz in Verbindung mit Investment ist Transparenz das oberste Gebot. Wir möchten Sie daher auf unserer Internetseite und natürlich auch im direkten Gespräch von unserer Arbeit überzeugen und Sie für unser Streben begeistern.

Soziale Projekte

Unsere sozialen Projekte beruhen nicht nur auf der Aufforstung, sie werden begleitet durch fundamentale Informationen. Von der Bereitstellung von Schulmaterial über Veranstaltungen hinsichtlich des richtigen Umgangs mit der Natur, bis hin zum Aufbau von Gewächshäusern unterstützen wir die Bevölkerung direkt vor Ort. Durch Vernetzung mit anderen Organisationen (Maharlika Charity Foundation) können wir zum Beispiel unseren Partnern kleine Operationen kostenlos ermöglichen.

Seit mehr als 25 Jahren

Gegen Treibnetzfischerei und Pelzhandel bis hin zur Aufforstung

Mama Earth besteht bereits seit mehr als 25 als eingetragener Verein.

In den frühen Jahren konzentrierte sich unserer Hauptengagement auf die Einstellung der Treibnetzfischerei, des Pelzhandels und der Massentierhaltung. Dabei haben wir nicht den Zeigefinger gehoben, sondern sind zu den Menschen, Bauern und Fischern gefahren um sie aufzuklären. Eine mühselige Arbeit, die sich dennoch gelohnt hat.

Im Rahmen unseres Projektes zur Verbreitung des Solarkochers SK 16 (heute Parabolkocher 100) kamen wir direkt mit dem weltweiten Holzmangel und der erschreckenden Abholzungsraten in Kontakt. Diese Erlebnisse und Erfahrungen haben das Ziel des Vereins maßgeblich verändert.

Seither konzentrieren wir uns ganz auf Aufforstungen mit gleichzeitiger Hilfe bei den Menschen vor Ort. Denn Naturschutz und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung schließen sich nicht aus. Unser erstes Projekt war das erfolgreiche pflanzen von über einer Millionen Mangroven. Unserer Fortwirte haben dabei mit der einheimischen Landbevölkerung Hand in Hand gearbeitet.

Mit diesem Erfolg im Rücken kamen weitere Baumprojekte – auch kommerzielle – hinzu. Heute bieten wir ein durchdachtes Investmentpaket in den Bereichen Teak, Mahagoni und Kakao an.

Seit über drei Jahren ist der Verein nun eine Stiftung (Foundation) und stemmt gerade weitere Aufforstungen, wie zum Beispiel das große “myTree-Projekt”.

Auch hier rufen wir nicht – wie viele Organisationen – einfach nach Spenden. Denn wie und wo das Geld eingesetzt wird beruht bei einer bloßen Spende meist auf einer reinen Vertrauensbasis gegenüber der Organisation. Ob das Geld wirklich dort ankommt und wieviel Prozent für die internen Strukturen und Werbung der Organisationen investiert werden, sind die treibenden und bleibenden Fragen.

Daher bieten wir bei Mama Earth stets die Unterstützung bei einem konkreten Projekt an. Wenn Sie bspw. einen Baum bei “myTree” kaufen, erhalten Sie die genauen Koordinaten Ihres Baumes auf einem Foto und können den Standort bei Google Earth sehen. Google Map wird Sie nach Eingabe der Koordinaten direkt zu Ihrem Baum führen.

Was an dem Investment bei Mama Earth besonders ist

Jeder Baum zählt

Wir haben schon Abertausende Bäume gepflanzt, aber die unten aufgeführten haben wir gezählt

1.025.000
Mangroven
1.800
Teakbäume
31.000
Kakaobäume
128.000
Mahagoni

Ausgewählte Projekte

Gemüsehaus

Noch in der Testphase steht unser Projekt „Veggie House“ (Gemüsehaus). Unter einer UV-stabilen Plastikplane und einem Bambusgestell wird der Anbau von lokalen Gemüsesorten auf einfacher Weise vollzogen (hydroponisch): Die Pflanzen wachsen in halbierten Bambusstangen, die mit Flusssand und Reisstroh gefüllt werden und durch die eine Nährflüssigkeit fließt. Ein „Haus“ von 300 Quadratmetern kann bis zu drei Familien auf Dauer ausreichend Einkommen sichern.

Bücher und Lernmaterial

Kindern vorzuwerfen, dass sie immer nur mit dem Handy spielen nützt nichts, wenn ihnen keine anderen Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung stehen. Wenn Kinder Bücher haben, wird das Handy schnell uninteressant. Deshalb finanzieren wir auch mitunter die Anschaffung von Büchern und anderen Unterrichtsmaterialien. Wer englische Bücher spenden möchte, oder Unterrichtsmaterialen hat, kann sich gerne an uns wenden.

Bücher spenden

Einkaufstaschen

Sehr erfolgreich läuft unser Livelihood-Projekt „Einkaufstaschen“, wobei Rettet den Regenwald unser größter Kunde ist. Selbst auf den Philippinen verkaufen wir die recycelten Taschen. So nutzen inzwischen einige Bürgermeisterämter (Barangayen) die Taschen um ihren Mitbürgern zu zeigen, dass sich jeder auf einen Einkauf vorbereiten kann und das Gekaufte nicht in Plastiktüten nach Hause tragen muss. Mit den Einkaufstaschen finanzieren wir unsere Mangroven-Pflanzungen im Jahr 2016.

Taschen kaufen

Riesenwald (2017/2018)

In Vorbereitung ist der „Riesenwald“. Hier sollen zu Beginn bis 70 Hektar mit 1.000 To-og-Bäumen bepflanzt werden. Jeder Baum bekommt zwei endemische Partner. Ein Mischwald der seinesgleichen sucht! Wenn sich die mindestens 1.000 Riesenbäume in 150 Jahren in voller Pracht zeigen ist unser Ziel erreicht. Auch hierzu gibt es mehr Informationen in Kürze.

Das Team von Mama Earth

Vorstand von Mama Earth

Curtny Kronberg
Vize-Präsident und Direktor für Verwaltung. Enderon, Manila
Ulrich Kronberg
Senior-Präsident, Verleger und Journalist vom Palstek Verlag, Hamburg

Ma Rheoleen D. Espanola
Sekretärin, zuständig für innere Abläufe, Schriftsätze etc.
Mary Mina F. Remis
Direktor, zuständig für Verwaltungen und Behörden
Michelle C. Centino
Schatzmeister, zuständig für Finanzen

Bürokräfte

 

Michelle C. Centino
Buchhalterin
Elvera Reyes
Farm- und Projekt-Management

Aufforstung

Mark Joseph Ibabao
Diplom-Forstwirt, Manager der Aufforstungsprogramme und des Teams
James Caligbus
Diplom-Forstwirt
Elton Jay Amila
Diplom-Forstwirt

Auf unseren Farmen

 

Welfredo Abarico
Koordinator und Betreuer des Mangrovenprogramms
Ronnie Pana und Jonar Pana
Monitoring Team 1 für das Mahagoni und Teak-Programm
Marjun Romula und Danila Fernandez
Monitoring Team 2 für das Mahagoni und Teak-Programm

Die Kakaofarmen von Mama Earth

Mama Earth-Farm in Monkayo

Diese Farm ist lediglich drei Kilometer Luftlinie von der ersten entfernt und auch an einer Straße gelegen. Kein unwichtiger Aspekt, denn nach dem Pflanzen kommt das Ernten und dann sollten die Transportwege kurz sein. Die Bohnen müssen frisch angeliefert werden um Klasse A zu erzeugen. Zeitgleich lassen wir bei den Farmern pflanzen, die sich unserem Kakao-Programm angeschlossen haben. Auch diese Farmen stehen unter ständiger Kontrolle von Mama Earth. Hierfür ist Frau Kakaodoktor Evangelyn zuständig.